vegan
Photo credit: barnivore.com Pin It
I am not a picky eater.  In fact, I will eat pretty much anything you put in front of me. But ... I recently discovered that many of my favorite beers, wines and liquors were processed using various animal products.  While animal products do not end up in the final product itself, they are used during the ... read more

I am not a picky eater.  In fact, I will eat pretty much anything you put in front of me. But … I recently discovered that many of my favorite beers, wines and liquors were processed using various animal products.  While animal products do not end up in the final product itself, they are used during the filtration process. Apparently, the most common animal ingredients used are isinglass (from fish bladder,) gelatin, egg whites, and sea shells, among other things. I am told that these products grab onto impurities, making it easier to catch them in the filters.

Wanna know if your favorite libation was processed and/or filtered using animal products?  Check the Vegan Alcohol Directory available on barnivore.com.  You can even download some handy iPhone apps directly from the website that allow you to sort beer, wine and liquor alphabetically, by region/country, and by “veganocity” (how vegan it is).  Even though I am not a vegetarian or vegan, I do care how the things I eat and drink are processed.  I simply wanted to pass the information along, so that you can make informed decisions about not only the types of adult beverages you would like to offer your wedding guests, but consume yourselves.  Cheers!

vegan liquors
Photo credit: barnivore.comPin it
vegan beer
Photo credit: barnivore.comPin it
vegan alcohol
vegan wine
vegan wine
Photo credit: barnivore.comPin it
Comments closed